Bulldogs Land DeVault, Worster, Beasley on All-Conference Team

Sunday, May 04, 2014

Columbia, Mo.~ The American Midwest Conference announced its 2014 Softball All-Conference team on Friday at the conclusion of the 2014 AMC Softball Tournament in Columbia, Mo. The All-Conference team includes a 20-woman first team and 18 honorable-mention representatives from 11 of the 12 conference softball teams. 

First-Team All-Conference
University of Benedictine-Springfield: Kerri Beasley, Monica DeVault

Beasley and DeVault became the first-ever Bulldogs to collect First-Team All-AMC honors for Benedictine University at Springfield. Beasley, a senior from Nokomis, Illinois, hit .360 on the year with a .520 slugging percentage. Her 51 RBIs is good for the 35th spot in the NAIA, 2nd in the AMC. DeVault (FR, Springfield, Illinois)  led all Bulldogs on the year with a .406 batting average, good enough for 3rd in the AMC. Her .639 slugging percentage was also a 3rd best for the conference. 63 hits and six home runs landed her 2nd and 4th place finishes, respectively, in the AMC. 

Honorable Mention All-Conference
University of Benedictine-Springfield: Sarah Worster

A transfer from Lincoln Land Community College in Springfield, Worster landed herself a spot on the AMC honorable mention list in just her first year as a Bulldog. Worster (JR, Edwardsville, Illinois) hit .319 on the year, driving in 25 runs on 45 hits, and crossing the plate 20 times. A .383 slugging percentage, Worster was just as effective in the field, fielding .925 on the year from mainly the second base position. 

For a complete list of AMC all-conference honorees, visit amcsportsonline.com for full story.